Edit a commitment using the Zuora UI
Learn how to edit commitments in the Zuora UI and understand which fields you can change based on the commitment state.
- Navigate to Customers > Commitments. The Commitments page opens.
- Click a commitment number in the Commitment Number column.
- Click Create Order.The Review order page is displayed.
- Click the edit icon in the Actions column of the commitments record.
- If you want to amend a commitment by updating the end date of an existing commitment schedule, follow these steps.
You can modify any schedule that hasn't been evaluated. When you modify the schedule end date, ensure it's on or after the last drawdown activity date, and no overlapping between two schedules.
- In the schedule that you want to change, update the Schedule End Date.
- Review the regenerated commitment periods. When you edit schedule dates, Zuora regenerates the underlying periods.
- If needed, append a new schedule at the end to continue the commitment after the revised end date.
- If overlapping commitments are enabled for your tenant, you can update child commitment relationships during an order amendment.
See Overlapping commitment for more information.
- Click Activate.
The commitment changes are applied when the order is activated. You cannot change the account or charge filter conditions after a commitment is activated. To refresh the associations using the existing filter conditions, open the commitment, click the Reapply Applicable Items button in the Current Contribution Items section, and confirm the action when prompted.
Shortening a commitment schedule updates the schedule duration only. It does not change the eligible accounts or eligible charges configuration of the commitment.
Editing child commitment relationships in overlapping commitments (nested mode) is a separate amendment action and does not change the eligible accounts or eligible charges configuration of the commitment.
You can amend an existing commitment in a draft order. Save and reopen the draft order to review or update the commitment before activation. The commitment changes are retained when you save or activate the draft.